

City of Albuquerque

Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Government Center One Civic Plaza Albuquerque, NM 87102

Minutes

2022 Redistricting Committee

District 1: Victor Segura, Dan Aragon (Alt.)
District 2: Keith Romero. Joaquin Baca (Alt.)

District 3: Cherise Quezada, Luis Hernandez Jr (Alt.) District 4: Mark Reynolds, Rebecca Latham (Alt.) District 5: Steve Smothermon, Robert Aragon (Alt.) District 6: Cathryn McGill (Chair), Rosendo Najar (Alt.)

District 7: Travis Kellerman (Vice Chair), Heather Berghmans (Alt.)

District 8: David Buchholtz, Kevin Powers (Alt.)
District 9: Kenneth Pascoe, Thomas R. Stull (Alt.)

Wednesday, May 4, 2022

5:30 PM

Via Zoom Video Conference

Attendance: District 1: Victor Segura

District 2: Keith Romero, Joaquin Baca (Alt.)

District 3: Cherise Quezada District 4: Mark Reynolds District 5: Robert Aragon (Alt.) District 6: Cathryn McGill (Chair)

District 7: Travis Kellerman (Vice Chair), Heather Berghmans (Alt.)

District 8: David Buchholtz, Kevin Powers (Alt.)
District 9: Kenneth Pascoe, Thomas R. Stull (Alt.)

Excused: District 1: Dan Aragon (Alt.)

District 3: Luis Hernandez Jr (Alt.) District 4: Rebecca Latham (Alt.) District 5: Steve Smothermon District 6: Rosendo Najar (Alt.)

The meeting is available via to watch YouTube: https://youtu.be/QHf0vecltRI

A. Approval of the April 27, 2022 meeting minutes (Cathryn McGill, 2:04)

A motion to approve the minutes was moved by Segura and Second by Romero

For: All said AYE, no roll call per Chair

- B. Communications update (Julian Moya, 2:53)
- C. Approval to add Citizen Map#1 to the Redistricting website: http://www.cabq.gov/2022redistricting (Cathryn McGill, 4:29)

A motion to include Citizen Map #1 as amended on the website was moved by Quezada, Second by Romero (9:01)

For: Segura, Romero, Quezada, Reynolds, McGill, Kellerman, Buchholtz, Pascoe

Excused: Aragon (not on) (Passes 8-0)

D. Follow up from Research & Polling (Brittany Poss, 10:53)

A motion to not accept the R & P map (from this presentation) for consideration was moved by Buchholtz, Second by Aragon (37:10)

For: Segura, Quezada, Reynolds, Aragon, McGill, Kellerman, Buchholtz, Pascoe

Against: Romero (Passes 8-1)

E. Committee discussion on any maps submitted via DistrictR in the written public comments (44:19)

A motion to accept Citizen Map #2 (Skowran) for consideration was moved by Pascoe, Second by Romero (50:11)

For: Segura, Romero, Quezada, Reynolds, Aragon, McGill, Kellerman, Buchholtz, Pascoe (Passes 9-0)

- F. Public comment (52:11)
 - Use the "Raise your Hand" function in Zoom to indicate your interest in providing public comment
 - Public comment is limited to 2 minutes per speaker
 - To be promoted to panelist for public comment, please turn on your web camera and identify yourself with your first and last name.
- G. Committee discussion (59:54)

A motion to eliminate Maps B and C for consideration was moved by Quezada, Second by Aragon (1:09)

For: Segura, Romero, Quezada, Reynolds, Aragon, McGill, Kellerman, Powers, Pascoe (Passes 9-0)

NOTICE TO PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES: If you have a disability and require special assistance to participate in this meeting, please contact the Council Office as soon as possible before the meeting date at 505-768-3100. Those in need of hearing assistance may call 711.